Low Sodium Chili Oil: How It Differs From Salty Chili Crisp
Low sodium chili oil vs. chili crisp: USDA sodium values, label data for 85 store products, the low sodium rule, and safe storage for garlic in oil.
A low sodium chili oil is mostly oil and chiles; most of the sodium in chili products comes from what is added to them, such as salt, soy sauce, MSG and fermented beans, which chili crisp usually contains. In USDA FoodData Central reference data, per 100 grams, soybean, canola, peanut and sesame oils list 0 mg of sodium and olive oil 2 mg, while dried chile entries list 30 to 91 mg and soy sauce 5,490 mg. [1] In USDA label data for 67 store-bought chili oils sold in the United States, 54 list no salt or other sodium-containing ingredient, and every one of those 54 lists 0 mg of sodium; the other 13 list salt, with a median of about 1,100 mg per 100 grams. All 18 chili crisps, crunches and salsa machas list salt, with a median of about 900 mg per 100 grams. [1] On a package, “low sodium” means 140 mg of sodium or less per serving [2]; for chili oil, the federal reference amount is one tablespoon. [3] [4]
Homemade oils made with garlic or herbs need cold storage: CDC advises refrigerating them and throwing them away after 4 days, and lists chopped garlic in oil among sources of botulism. [11] [12] This page is general education, not individual nutrition advice. If you have kidney disease, take certain medications, or follow a medically prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes or lower-sodium products made with potassium chloride. [7] Many chili crisps contain sesame, and some contain peanuts, soy or wheat, which are major food allergens. [8]
Compare chili oil and chili crisp ingredients by sodium
Sodium in oils, chiles and chili crisp ingredients
The table lists USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy entries, per 100 grams, with how USDA arrived at each sodium value; saturated fat is rounded to one decimal. [1] Per 100 grams is a standard unit for comparing foods, not an amount anyone uses. Saturated fat is shown because chili oil is mostly oil; FDA lists the Daily Value for saturated fat as 20 g and for sodium as 2,300 mg. [10]
| USDA SR Legacy entry (FDC ID) | Sodium, mg per 100 g | Basis of the sodium value | Saturated fat, g per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oils | |||
| Oil, soybean, salad or cooking (171411) | 0 | Analyzed (1 data point) | 15.6 |
| Oil, canola (172336) | 0 | No data points reported | 7.4 |
| Oil, peanut, salad or cooking (171410) | 0 | 11 data points; method not stated | 16.9 |
| Oil, sesame, salad or cooking (171016) | 0 | No data points reported | 14.2 |
| Oil, olive, salad or cooking (171413) | 2 | Analyzed (4 data points) | 13.8 |
| Chiles and aromatics | |||
| Shallots, raw (170499) | 12 | No data points reported | 0.0 |
| Ginger root, raw (169231) | 13 | 2 data points; method not stated | 0.2 |
| Garlic, raw (169230) | 17 | 8 data points; method not stated | 0.1 |
| Spices, pepper, red or cayenne (170932) | 30 | 5 data points; method not stated | 3.3 |
| Spices, garlic powder (171325) | 60 | Analyzed (3 data points) | 0.2 |
| Spices, paprika (171329) | 68 | Analyzed (3 data points) | 2.1 |
| Peppers, hot chile, sun-dried (168570) | 91 | 2 data points; method not stated | 0.8 |
| Other chili crisp ingredients | |||
| Sugars, granulated (169655) | 1 | Analyzed (8 data points) | 0.0 |
| Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt (173806) | 6 | No data points reported | 7.7 |
| Seeds, sesame seeds, whole, dried (170150) | 11 | 3 data points; method not stated | 7.0 |
| Mushrooms, shiitake, dried (168436) | 13 | 1 data point; method not stated | 0.2 |
| Sodium sources | |||
| Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu) (174277) | 5,490 | Analyzed (6 data points) | 0.1 |
| Salt, table (173468) | 38,800 | 1 data point; method not stated | 0.0 |
Limits of this comparison. SR Legacy is USDA’s historical dataset; its final update was in 2018, and these entries were published in April 2019. Its values are generic, not those of any product you can buy, and several entries report no data points for sodium. Among these entries, USDA reports data points for saturated fat only for table salt. [1] SR Legacy has no entry for chili oil or chili crisp. FDA notes that sodium can vary significantly between similar foods, so the Nutrition Facts label on the package you buy is the figure to use. [2]
What the table shows. The oils list 0 to 2 mg of sodium per 100 grams, and the chiles, garlic, shallots, ginger, sesame seeds, unsalted peanuts and dried shiitake list 6 to 91 mg. Soy sauce lists 5,490 mg and table salt 38,800 mg. The oils list about 7 to 17 g of saturated fat per 100 grams, canola the least. [1]
Chili oil and chili crisp are different products
Chili oil is oil flavored with chiles. Chili crisp, chili crunch and salsa macha keep crunchy solids in the oil; in the label data, their ingredient lists include garlic, onions, seeds, nuts or dried mushrooms alongside salt. [1] The federal reference amounts table lists chili oil among seasoning oils, at one tablespoon, and chili paste among seasoning pastes, at one teaspoon; it does not name chili crisp. [4] Reference amounts are for labeling, not recommended amounts to eat.
In the label data, the difference shows up in the ingredient lists. [1]
- Chili oils without a sodium source. 54 of the 67 chili oils list oil and chiles or chile flavor, often with garlic, sesame oil, herbs or spices, and no salt, soy sauce, MSG, other sodium additive or fermented beans. All 54 list 0 mg of sodium. 46 of the 54 labels state a one-tablespoon serving. [1]
- Chili oils with a sodium source. All 13 list salt; 5 also list MSG and 1 soy sauce. Median about 1,100 mg per 100 grams, middle half 1,000 to 1,200 mg, range 250 to 2,800 mg. [1]
- Chili crisps, crunches and salsa machas. All 18 list salt; 3 also list MSG and 2 soy sauce. 12 list sugar, 13 sesame and 16 garlic. Of the 17 that report sodium, the median is about 900 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 600 to 1,600 mg, and the range 200 to 7,692 mg. [1]
The median is the middle label in each group, and the middle half is the range covered by the central 50% of labels; both are rounded to the nearest 100 mg. USDA’s Branded Foods data converts the sodium on each label to a value per 100 grams or per 100 milliliters, depending on what the manufacturer supplied. [9] Products are grouped by name, with one record per product barcode. Most of these label records date from 2021 to 2023, the full set spans 2019 to 2023, and formulas change. The data does not cover every product on the market, so check the current label of the jar you buy. [1]
What “0 mg” on a chili oil label means
Federal labeling rules have sodium expressed as zero when a serving contains less than 5 milligrams. [5] USDA notes that when label rounding gives a value of zero, the per-100 value in its data is also zero, although analysis may still find the nutrient in the food. [9] So a chili oil label that lists 0 mg of sodium means less than 5 mg per serving, not a food with no sodium. Because the serving is small, the label’s serving size matters when you compare jars. [2]
What the label terms mean
FDA’s consumer summary of sodium terms on packages: [2]
- “Low sodium.” 140 mg of sodium or less per serving. The federal rule measures this per reference amount, and for foods with small reference amounts, 30 g or less or two tablespoons or less, also per 50 g. [3] Chili oil’s reference amount of one tablespoon falls in that small group. [4]
- “No-salt-added” or “unsalted.” No salt is added during processing, but these products may not be salt- or sodium-free unless stated. [2] Federal rules also note that salt is not synonymous with sodium; salt refers to sodium chloride. [3]
- Daily Value. FDA lists the Daily Value for sodium as less than 2,300 mg per day, and as a general guide considers 5% DV or less of sodium per serving low and 20% DV or more high. [2]
The %DV and serving size on each label are the numbers to compare. For practice with both, see the food label reading worksheet.
MSG and other sodium sources in the ingredient list
FDA describes monosodium glutamate (MSG) as the sodium salt of the amino acid glutamic acid, and requires added MSG to be listed in the ingredient panel as “monosodium glutamate.” [6] FDA also names MSG, along with additives such as sodium bicarbonate and sodium benzoate, among the additives that contribute to the sodium on the Nutrition Facts label alongside salt. [2] Glutamate and sodium also occur together naturally in ingredients such as yeast extract, soy extracts and hydrolyzed vegetable protein. [6] When you scan a chili oil or chili crisp label, salt, soy sauce, monosodium glutamate, other ingredients with “sodium” in the name, and fermented or preserved beans are the sodium sources to look for; the Nutrition Facts panel gives the total.
Storing homemade chili oil made with garlic or herbs
Many chili oil and chili crisp recipes include garlic; in the label data, 16 of the 18 chili crisps list it. [1] The storage guidance below comes from federal and university food safety sources:
- CDC lists chopped garlic in oil among sources of botulism and advises refrigerating homemade oils made with garlic or herbs and throwing them away after 4 days. [11]
- The National Center for Home Food Preservation says garlic-in-oil should be made fresh, stored in the refrigerator at 40°F or lower for no more than 4 days, or frozen for longer storage. [12]
- University of Georgia Extension explains that oil keeps out oxygen and that garlic and herbs are low-acid foods that may already carry Clostridium botulinum spores. Oils infused with garlic or herbs that have not been acidified must be kept in the refrigerator and discarded 4 days after being made, or frozen. Using dried garlic or herbs does not ensure a safe product. [13]
- UGA Extension also describes an acidification method for garlic, basil, oregano and rosemary, developed by University of Idaho researchers, that allows room-temperature storage only if followed properly. The steps are in the UGA circular, and for other questions it directs readers to their local Extension office. [13]
- Keep your refrigerator at 40°F (4°C) or below. [15]
Chili oil is often made by heating oil. The U.S. Fire Administration advises turning the burner off if you see any smoke or the grease starts to boil, and keeping a pan lid or baking sheet nearby to cover the pan if it catches fire. [14]
Kidney diets, potassium and allergens
Potassium is an ingredient in many salt substitutes. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says that people with kidney disease, or who take certain medications, could end up with potassium levels that are too high from these products, and advises talking with a health care provider before using them. [7] None of the chili oils or chili crisps in the label data lists potassium chloride, but the same caution applies to any lower-sodium product or salt substitute that does. [1] If you follow a medically prescribed diet, including a kidney diet, use the plan from your health care team.
FDA recognizes nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame. [8] In the label data, 13 of the 18 chili crisps list sesame, and 1 lists peanuts and 1 wheat; 6 of the 13 chili oils with a sodium source list sesame, and 2 list peanuts. USDA’s soy sauce entry is made from soy and wheat. [1] FDA’s first tip for people with food allergies is to always read food labels. [8]
Where to go next
This guide covers sodium, saturated fat, label terms, storage, allergens and kitchen fire safety only. It does not assess calories, portion size or how a condiment fits an overall meal. For seasoning that does not rely on salt, see the guide to low salt chicken seasoning. More guides are listed under Heart-healthy recipes.
Common questions
Does chili oil have sodium?
Plain oils list 0 to 2 mg of sodium per 100 grams in USDA’s reference data, and dried chiles 30 to 91 mg. [1] In USDA label data, 54 of 67 store chili oils list no sodium-containing ingredient and list 0 mg of sodium, which on a label means less than 5 mg per serving. [1] [5] Chili oils that list salt have a median of about 1,100 mg per 100 grams. [1]
How much sodium is in chili crisp?
In USDA label data for 17 chili crisps, crunches and salsa machas that report sodium, the median is about 900 mg per 100 grams, with a range of 200 to 7,692 mg, and all 18 in the group list salt. [1] For a single product, the %DV on its label is the number to use; FDA considers 20% DV or more of sodium per serving high. [2]
What does “low sodium” mean on a chili oil label?
140 mg of sodium or less per reference amount, which for chili oil is one tablespoon; because that reference amount is small, the product must also meet 140 mg or less per 50 g. [3] [4] “No salt added” is a different claim and does not mean the food is sodium-free. [2]
Does MSG add sodium?
Yes. FDA describes MSG as the sodium salt of glutamic acid and counts it among additives that contribute to the sodium on the Nutrition Facts label. [6] [2] Added MSG must be listed as “monosodium glutamate.” [6]
How long does homemade chili oil with garlic keep?
CDC advises refrigerating homemade oils made with garlic or herbs and throwing them away after 4 days. [11] The National Center for Home Food Preservation and UGA Extension say such oils can be frozen for longer storage. [12] [13] Using dried garlic or herbs does not make room-temperature storage safe. [13] If you have kidney disease or follow a prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes. [7]
Compare chili oil and chili crisp ingredients by sodium
Sources and limitations
- U.S. Department of Agriculture: FoodData Central. SR Legacy dataset, published April 2019; entries by FDC ID: 171411 (soybean oil), 172336 (canola oil), 171410 (peanut oil), 171016 (sesame oil), 171413 (olive oil), 170499 (shallots), 169231 (ginger), 169230 (garlic), 170932 (red or cayenne pepper), 171325 (garlic powder), 171329 (paprika), 168570 (sun-dried hot chile), 169655 (sugar), 173806 (unsalted dry-roasted peanuts), 170150 (sesame seeds), 168436 (dried shiitake), 174277 (soy sauce), 173468 (table salt). Branded Foods dataset, April 2026 release: label data supplied by food brands, here 67 chili oils and 18 chili crisps, crunches and salsa machas sold in the United States, grouped by product name, one record per product barcode. Search each FDC ID on the FoodData Central site. SR Legacy values are generic and its final update was in 2018; branded values are as reported by manufacturers and may not match current products.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Sodium in Your Diet. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Daily Value, %DV guide, a consumer summary of package claims and notes on sodium-containing additives for the general public; not individual dietary advice.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.61, Nutrient content claims for the sodium content of foods. Current regulation text. Applies to package labels and labeling, not to home cooking.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.12, Reference amounts customarily consumed per eating occasion. Current regulation text. Reference amounts are for labeling, not recommended amounts to eat; chili crisp is not named.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.9, Nutrition labeling of food. Current regulation text; paragraph (c)(4) on sodium rounding. Rules for manufacturers.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Questions and Answers on Monosodium glutamate (MSG). Content current as of July 17, 2026. Explains what MSG is and how it is labeled; it gives no sodium amounts for foods.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Potassium, Fact Sheet for Consumers. Updated March 22, 2021. General overview; it does not list individual products or set limits for any person.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Food Allergies: What You Need to Know. Content current as of August 16, 2024. Lists the major food allergens recognized in the United States; it does not assess individual products.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture: USDA Global Branded Food Products Database Documentation. April 2024. Explains the conversion of label values to a 100 g or 100 mL basis, label rounding and zero values.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Lists the Daily Values used on food labels; not individual intake targets.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Preventing Botulism. Updated February 26, 2026; reviewed May 6, 2024. General prevention guidance; it does not address chili oil specifically.
- National Center for Home Food Preservation: Freezing Garlic-In-Oil. University of Georgia; cites Nummer and colleagues, Food Protection Trends, 2011. Home preservation guidance for garlic in oil; it does not address chili oil specifically.
- University of Georgia Cooperative Extension: How to Safely Make Infused Oils (Circular 1334). Published December 17, 2024. Guidance for oils infused with garlic and herbs.
- U.S. Fire Administration: Cooking fire safety. Page last reviewed September 28, 2026. General home cooking fire safety.
- FoodSafety.gov: 4 Steps to Food Safety. Last reviewed September 18, 2023. Home kitchen guidance on cleaning, separating, cooking and chilling.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Not Medical AdviceThe information on this site is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. Talk with a qualified healthcare practitioner before making changes to your health routine.