Low Sodium Egg Noodles: Plain Noodles vs. Sauces and Mixes
Low sodium egg noodles: USDA sodium values for noodles, sauces and add-ins, label data for 376 store products, the low sodium rule, and leftover storage.
Plain dry egg noodles contain little sodium on their own; in an egg noodle meal, most of the sodium usually comes from what is added, such as salted cooking water, salted butter, cheese, broth, sauce, soy sauce or a seasoning packet. In USDA FoodData Central reference data, per 100 grams, dry enriched egg noodles list 21 mg of sodium and cooked egg noodles 5 mg, while cooked egg noodles with added salt list 165 mg. [1] In USDA label data for 364 plain dry egg noodles sold in the United States, 354 list no salt or other sodium-containing ingredient, with a median of 27 mg per 100 grams; the other 10 list salt, with a median of 242 mg. All 6 egg noodle products packaged with a seasoning or sauce list salt, and their labels range from 217 to 1,160 mg per 100 grams. [1] On a package, “low sodium” means 140 mg of sodium or less per serving [2]; for plain pasta, the federal reference amount is 55 g dry or 140 g prepared. [3] [4]
For cooked noodles left over after a meal, USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service says to refrigerate leftovers within 2 hours of cooking and that they can be kept in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days. [11] This page is general education, not individual nutrition advice. If you have kidney disease, take certain medications, or follow a medically prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes or lower-sodium products made with potassium chloride. [7] Egg noodles contain egg and usually wheat, two of the major food allergens, and sauces or mixes may add milk or soy. [8] [1]
Compare egg noodle meal ingredients by sodium
Sodium in egg noodles, sauces and add-ins
The table lists USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy entries, per 100 grams, with how USDA arrived at each sodium value; saturated fat is rounded to one decimal. [1] Per 100 grams is a standard unit for comparing foods, not an amount anyone uses. Saturated fat is shown because butter and cheese are common noodle toppings; FDA lists the Daily Value for saturated fat as 20 g and for sodium as 2,300 mg. [10]
| USDA SR Legacy entry (FDC ID) | Sodium, mg per 100 g | Basis of the sodium value | Saturated fat, g per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Egg noodles | |||
| Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked (169732) | 5 | Analyzed (42 data points) | 0.4 |
| Noodles, egg, dry, enriched (169731) | 21 | Analyzed (3 data points) | 1.2 |
| Noodles, egg, cooked, enriched, with added salt (168919) | 165 | 1 data point; method not stated | 0.4 |
| Fats and cheese | |||
| Oil, olive, salad or cooking (171413) | 2 | Analyzed (4 data points) | 13.8 |
| Butter, without salt (173430) | 11 | No data points reported | 50.5 |
| Cheese, parmesan, low sodium (167705) | 63 | No data points reported | 19.1 |
| Butter, salted (173410) | 643 | No data points reported | 51.4 |
| Cheese, parmesan, grated (171247) | 1,800 | Analyzed (11 data points) | 15.4 |
| Broth and sauces | |||
| Soup, chicken broth, low sodium, canned (171609) | 30 | No data points reported | 0.2 |
| Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve, low sodium (171597) | 30 | From a label claim; no data points | 0.2 |
| Soup, chicken broth, less/reduced sodium, ready to serve (172888) | 231 | 1 data point; method not stated | 0.0 |
| Soup, chicken broth, ready-to-serve (174536) | 371 | Analyzed (15 data points) | 0.0 |
| Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve (171192) | 437 | Analyzed (36 data points) | 0.2 |
| Seasonings and add-ins | |||
| Lemon juice, raw (167747) | 1 | 15 data points; method not stated | 0.0 |
| Chives, raw (169994) | 3 | 3 data points; method not stated | 0.1 |
| Garlic, raw (169230) | 17 | 8 data points; method not stated | 0.1 |
| Spices, pepper, black (170931) | 20 | Analyzed (5 data points) | 1.4 |
| Parsley, fresh (170416) | 56 | 7 data points; method not stated | 0.1 |
| Spices, garlic powder (171325) | 60 | Analyzed (3 data points) | 0.2 |
| Peas, green, frozen, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt (170017) | 72 | 47 data points; method not stated | 0.0 |
| Spices, onion powder (171327) | 73 | Analyzed (1 data point) | 0.2 |
| Chicken, broilers or fryers, breast, meat only, cooked, roasted (171477) | 74 | 16 data points; method not stated | 1.0 |
| Concentrated sodium sources | |||
| Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu), low sodium (172473) | 3,600 | Analyzed (6 data points) | 0.0 |
| Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu) (174277) | 5,490 | Analyzed (6 data points) | 0.1 |
| Soup, chicken broth or bouillon, dry (171562) | 23,900 | 4 data points; method not stated | 3.4 |
| Salt, table (173468) | 38,800 | 1 data point; method not stated | 0.0 |
Limits of this comparison. SR Legacy is USDA’s historical dataset; its final update was in 2018, and these entries were published in April 2019. Its values are generic, not those of any product you can buy, and several entries report no data points for sodium. Among these entries, USDA reports data points for saturated fat only for reduced-sodium chicken broth and table salt. [1] FDA notes that sodium can vary significantly between similar foods, so the Nutrition Facts label on the package you buy is the figure to use. [2]
What the table shows. Egg noodles cooked without salt list 5 mg of sodium per 100 grams and cooked with added salt 165 mg. Olive oil lists 2 mg and unsalted butter 11 mg, while salted butter lists 643 mg; grated parmesan lists 1,800 mg and the low sodium parmesan entry 63 mg. Chicken broth ranges from 30 mg for the low sodium entry to 371 mg for regular broth, and marinara from 30 mg to 437 mg. Lemon juice, herbs, garlic, pepper, garlic and onion powder, unsalted peas and roasted chicken breast list 1 to 74 mg. A lower-sodium version can still be concentrated: low sodium soy sauce lists 3,600 mg, regular soy sauce 5,490 mg, dry bouillon 23,900 mg and table salt 38,800 mg. Butter lists about 51 g of saturated fat per 100 grams. [1]
Plain egg noodles and noodle dishes are different products
Under the federal standard for noodle products, egg noodles are ribbon-shaped noodles whose solids contain not less than 5.5 percent egg or egg yolk by weight. The standard allows salt as an optional ingredient, in a quantity which seasons the food, along with onions, celery, garlic or bay leaf. [6] FDA lists pasta mixed dishes among the top sources of sodium in the American diet and suggests limiting packaged sauces, mixes and instant products, including instant noodles and ready-made pasta. [2] So the sodium in a bag of plain noodles says little about a finished noodle dish.
In the label data, the difference shows up in the ingredient lists. [1]
- Plain dry egg noodles without a sodium source. 354 of the 364 plain dry egg noodles list flour or semolina and egg, with no salt or other sodium-containing ingredient. Of the 333 that report sodium, the median is 27 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 18 to 33 mg, and the range 0 to 149 mg; 11 list 0 mg. 322 of the 354 labels state a serving of 55 to 57 grams. [1]
- Plain dry egg noodles with a sodium source. All 10 list salt, and 4 also list potassium carbonate. Median 242 mg per 100 grams, middle half 141 to 272 mg, range 60 to 400 mg. [1]
- Frozen or refrigerated plain egg noodles. 3 of the 6 list salt. Their labels range from 17 to 437 mg per 100 grams. [1]
- Egg noodles packaged with a seasoning or sauce. All 6 list salt, and 2 also list soy sauce; 4 list milk, cheese, whey, butter or cream. Their labels range from 217 to 1,160 mg per 100 grams, and 4 of the 6 list 951 mg or more. [1]
The median is the middle label in each group, and the middle half is the range covered by the central 50% of labels; values are shown as listed, rounded to the nearest milligram. USDA’s Branded Foods data converts the sodium on each label to a value per 100 grams. [9] Products are grouped by name and ingredient list, with one record per product barcode; filled pasta, soups and ready meals are not included. Most of these label records date from 2021 to 2023, the full set spans 2019 to 2023, and formulas change. The data does not cover every product on the market, so check the current label of the package you buy. [1]
What “0 mg” on a noodle label means
Federal labeling rules have sodium expressed as zero when a serving contains less than 5 milligrams. [5] USDA notes that when label rounding gives a value of zero, the per-100 value in its data is also zero, although analysis may still find the nutrient in the food. [9] So an egg noodle label that lists 0 mg of sodium means less than 5 mg per serving, not a food with no sodium. USDA also notes that a missing value does not indicate zero; 21 of the plain dry egg noodles without a sodium source report no sodium value. [9] [1]
What the label terms mean
FDA’s consumer summary of sodium terms on packages: [2]
- “Salt/sodium-free.” Less than 5 mg of sodium per serving. [2]
- “Low sodium.” 140 mg of sodium or less per serving. For foods with a reference amount larger than 30 g, the federal rule measures this per reference amount [3], which for plain pasta is 55 g dry or 140 g prepared. [4]
- “Reduced sodium.” At least 25% less sodium than the regular product. [2]
- “No-salt-added” or “unsalted.” No salt is added during processing, but these products may not be salt- or sodium-free unless stated. [2] Federal rules also note that salt is not synonymous with sodium; salt refers to sodium chloride. [3]
- Daily Value. FDA lists the Daily Value for sodium as less than 2,300 mg per day, and as a general guide considers 5% DV or less of sodium per serving low and 20% DV or more high. [2]
The %DV and serving size on each label are the numbers to compare, and for a noodle mix, the label may describe the dry mix or the prepared dish. For practice with both, see the food label reading worksheet.
Where sodium enters an egg noodle meal
FDA says most dietary sodium, over 70%, comes from packaged and prepared foods rather than from salt added while cooking or eating. [2] In a noodle meal, the packaged parts are the ones to check first.
- Cooking water. USDA’s entry for egg noodles cooked with added salt lists 165 mg per 100 grams, against 5 mg for egg noodles cooked without it. [1]
- Butter and cheese. Salted butter lists 643 mg and unsalted butter 11 mg; grated parmesan lists 1,800 mg. [1]
- Broth, sauce and soy sauce. Regular and lower-sodium versions differ, and even low sodium soy sauce lists 3,600 mg per 100 grams. [1]
- Seasoning packets and mixes. All 6 egg noodle products packaged with a seasoning or sauce list salt. [1] FDA suggests no-salt seasoning blends and herbs and spices instead of salt. [2]
For a seasoning that does not rely on salt, see the guide to low salt chicken seasoning.
Storing cooked egg noodles
The guidance below comes from federal food safety sources:
- Refrigerate leftovers within 2 hours of cooking, dividing large amounts into shallow containers so they cool quickly. [11]
- Leftovers can be kept in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days or frozen for 3 to 4 months. [11]
- When reheating leftovers in a microwave, heat them until they reach 165°F as measured with a food thermometer. [11]
- Keep your refrigerator at 40°F (4°C) or below. FoodSafety.gov’s cold storage chart lists cooked meat or poultry leftovers at 3 to 4 days in the refrigerator; it has no separate row for cooked pasta or noodles and points to FoodKeeper for other foods. [12]
Kidney diets, potassium and allergens
Potassium is an ingredient in many salt substitutes. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says that people with kidney disease, or who take certain medications, could end up with potassium levels that are too high from these products, and advises talking with a health care provider before using them. [7] None of the egg noodle products in the label data lists potassium chloride, but the same caution applies to any lower-sodium product or salt substitute that does. [1] If you follow a medically prescribed diet, including a kidney diet, use the plan from your health care team.
FDA recognizes nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame. [8] In the label data, all 376 egg noodle products list egg, and 351 of the 364 plain dry egg noodles list wheat, durum or semolina; 4 of the 6 products packaged with a seasoning or sauce list milk, cheese, whey, butter or cream, and 4 list a soy ingredient. USDA’s soy sauce entries are made from soy and wheat. [1] FDA’s first tip for people with food allergies is to always read food labels. [8]
Where to go next
This guide to low sodium egg noodles covers sodium, saturated fat, label terms, leftovers and allergens only. It does not assess calories, portion size or how a dish fits an overall meal plan. More guides are listed under Heart-healthy recipes.
Common questions
Are egg noodles high in sodium?
Plain dry egg noodles usually are not: USDA’s reference entry lists 21 mg per 100 grams, and in USDA label data the 354 plain dry egg noodles without a sodium source have a median of 27 mg per 100 grams. [1] Noodles that list salt, and noodle products packaged with a seasoning or sauce, list more. [1]
Does salting the cooking water add sodium?
USDA’s reference data lists 165 mg of sodium per 100 grams for egg noodles cooked with added salt and 5 mg for egg noodles cooked without it. [1]
What does “low sodium” mean on an egg noodle package?
140 mg of sodium or less per reference amount, which for plain pasta is 55 g dry or 140 g prepared. [3] [4] “No salt added” is a different claim and does not mean the food is sodium-free. [2]
What should I check on a noodle mix label?
Check the serving size and the %DV for sodium; FDA considers 20% DV or more of sodium per serving high. [2] Salt, soy sauce, monosodium glutamate and other ingredients with “sodium” in the name are sodium sources, and the Nutrition Facts panel gives the total.
How long do cooked egg noodles keep?
USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service says to refrigerate leftovers within 2 hours of cooking and that they can be kept in the refrigerator for 3 to 4 days or frozen for 3 to 4 months. [11] If you have kidney disease or follow a prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes. [7]
Compare egg noodle meal ingredients by sodium
Sources and limitations
- U.S. Department of Agriculture: FoodData Central. SR Legacy dataset, published April 2019; entries by FDC ID: 169732 (cooked egg noodles), 169731 (dry egg noodles), 168919 (cooked egg noodles with added salt), 171413 (olive oil), 173430 (unsalted butter), 167705 (low sodium parmesan), 173410 (salted butter), 171247 (grated parmesan), 171609 (low sodium chicken broth), 171597 (low sodium marinara), 172888 (reduced sodium chicken broth), 174536 (chicken broth), 171192 (marinara), 167747 (lemon juice), 169994 (chives), 169230 (garlic), 170931 (black pepper), 170416 (parsley), 171325 (garlic powder), 170017 (peas), 171327 (onion powder), 171477 (roasted chicken breast), 172473 (low sodium soy sauce), 174277 (soy sauce), 171562 (dry bouillon), 173468 (table salt). Branded Foods dataset, April 2026 release: label data supplied by food brands, here 376 egg noodle products sold in the United States, grouped by product name and ingredient list, one record per product barcode. Search each FDC ID on the FoodData Central site. SR Legacy values are generic and its final update was in 2018; branded values are as reported by manufacturers and may not match current products.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Sodium in Your Diet. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Daily Value, %DV guide, top food sources, tips and a consumer summary of package claims for the general public; not individual dietary advice.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.61, Nutrient content claims for the sodium content of foods. Current regulation text. Applies to package labels and labeling, not to home cooking.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.12, Reference amounts customarily consumed per eating occasion. Current regulation text. Reference amounts are for labeling, not recommended amounts to eat.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.9, Nutrition labeling of food. Current regulation text; paragraph (c)(4) on sodium rounding. Rules for manufacturers.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 139.150, Noodle products. Current regulation text. Federal standard of identity for noodle products; it does not set sodium amounts.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Potassium, Fact Sheet for Consumers. Updated March 22, 2021. General overview; it does not list individual products or set limits for any person.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Food Allergies: What You Need to Know. Content current as of August 16, 2024. Lists the major food allergens recognized in the United States; it does not assess individual products.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture: USDA Global Branded Food Products Database Documentation. April 2024. Explains the conversion of label values to a 100 g or 100 mL basis, label rounding, zero values and missing values.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Lists the Daily Values used on food labels; not individual intake targets.
- USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service: Leftovers and Food Safety. Last updated July 31, 2020. General guidance for leftovers; it does not give a time for any specific dish.
- FoodSafety.gov: Cold Food Storage Chart. Last reviewed September 19, 2023. Home refrigerator and freezer storage times.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Not Medical AdviceThe information on this site is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. Talk with a qualified healthcare practitioner before making changes to your health routine.