Can You Have Oatmeal on a Low Carb Diet? Carbs, Fiber and Toppings per Serving
Can you have oatmeal on a low carb diet? Carbs and fiber per serving for oats, instant packets and toppings, and why low carb plans differ.
Yes, you can have oatmeal on a low carb diet if the portion fits your own plan: 1 cup of oatmeal cooked with water has about 28 g of total carbohydrate and 4 g of fiber, and ½ cup has about half that, by our calculation from USDA data. [1] [2] “Low carb” has no single definition. One diabetes consensus report found no consistent definition and, for its own review, counted 26–45% of calories from carbohydrate as low and less than 26% as very low; very low plans often set a goal of 20–50 g of nonfiber carbohydrate a day. [3] By our arithmetic, the 24 g of carbohydrate minus fiber in that cup is about half of a 50 g day and more than all of a 20 g day, but a smaller share of a plan set by percent of calories. [1] [3] Add-ins can matter as much as the oats: 1 tablespoon of honey adds 17.5 g of carbohydrate, more than ½ cup of cooked oatmeal at 14 g. [1]
This page is general food education for adults. It does not set a carbohydrate target or prescribe a diet; CDC notes there is no one-size-fits-all amount of carbohydrate, and the federal Dietary Guidelines advise working with your health care professional to choose a diet that fits your health condition. [4] [5]
Safety first. If you take insulin or another medicine that lowers blood glucose, eating fewer carbohydrates than usual can make your blood glucose drop too low, so talk with your health care team before you change how much carbohydrate you eat. [6] [3] Low blood glucose can make you shaky, dizzy or confused. Severe low blood glucose, which can cause a seizure or loss of consciousness, is dangerous and needs help right away: NIDDK tells family and friends to call 911 right away after giving glucagon, or if no glucagon emergency kit is on hand. [6]
Food-comparison guide: oats and add-ins per serving
The FDA reference amount for hot cereal is 1 cup prepared, 40 g of plain dry cereal or 55 g of flavored, sweetened cereal, so the table shows dry oats at 40 g and cooked oatmeal by the cup. [2] The USDA flavored instant packet weighs 43 g, less than that 55 g reference amount, so it is shown as one packet; add-ins use a household measure from the USDA record, and a half measure is half the USDA weight. [1] Each value is the USDA amount per 100 g multiplied by the serving weight, and each %DV uses the FDA Daily Values of 275 g for total carbohydrate and 28 g for dietary fiber. [1] [7] Total sugars have no Daily Value, so that column shows grams only. [8]
| Food (FDC number) | Serving | Total carbohydrate (% DV) | Dietary fiber (% DV) | Total carbohydrate minus fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oats and oatmeal | |||||
| Rolled oats, old-fashioned, dry (FDC 2346396) | 40 g | 27.5 g (10% DV) | 4 g (15% DV) | 23.5 g | Not reported |
| Steel-cut oats, dry (FDC 2346397) | 40 g | 28 g (10% DV) | 5 g (17% DV) | 23 g | Not reported |
| Oats, regular and quick, dry (FDC 173904) | 40 g | 27 g (10% DV) | 4 g (14% DV) | 23 g | <0.5 g |
| Oatmeal cooked with water, no salt (FDC 173905) | 1 cup (234 g) | 28 g (10% DV) | 4 g (14% DV) | 24 g | 0.5 g |
| Oatmeal cooked with water, no salt (FDC 173905) | ½ cup (117 g) | 14 g (5% DV) | 2 g (7% DV) | 12 g | <0.5 g |
| Instant oatmeal, plain, dry (FDC 171661) | 1 packet (28 g) | 19.5 g (7% DV) | 3 g (10% DV) | 16.5 g | <0.5 g |
| Instant oatmeal, maple and brown sugar, dry (FDC 173920) | 1 packet (43 g) | 33 g (12% DV) | 3 g (11% DV) | 30 g | 13 g |
| Add-ins | |||||
| Brown sugar (FDC 168833) | 1 tsp packed (4.6 g) | 4.5 g (2% DV) | 0 g | 4.5 g | 4.5 g |
| Honey (FDC 169640) | 1 tbsp (21 g) | 17.5 g (6% DV) | <0.5 g | 17.5 g | 17 g |
| Maple syrup (FDC 169661) | 1 tbsp (20 g) | 13.5 g (5% DV) | 0 g | 13.5 g | 12 g |
| Raisins, seedless (FDC 168165) | 1 miniature box (14 g) | 11 g (4% DV) | 0.5 g (2% DV) | 10.5 g | 9 g |
| Blueberries, raw (FDC 171711) | ½ cup (74 g) | 10.5 g (4% DV) | 2 g (6% DV) | 9 g | 7.5 g |
| Banana, raw (FDC 173944) | ½ medium (59 g) | 13.5 g (5% DV) | 1.5 g (5% DV) | 12 g | 7 g |
| Walnuts (FDC 170187) | 1 oz (28.35 g) | 4 g (1% DV) | 2 g (7% DV) | 2 g | 0.5 g |
| Peanut butter, smooth, no salt added (FDC 172470) | 2 tbsp (32 g) | 7 g (3% DV) | 1.5 g (6% DV) | 5.5 g | 3.5 g |
| Milk, 2% fat (FDC 171267) | ½ cup (122 g) | 6 g (2% DV) | 0 g | 6 g | 6 g |
| Almond milk, unsweetened (FDC 174832) | ½ cup (131 g) | 1.5 g (1% DV) | <0.5 g | 1.5 g | 1 g |
Rounding is ours: grams to the nearest 0.5 and %DV to the nearest 1%. “Total carbohydrate minus fiber” is our subtraction on unrounded values, not a line on the Nutrition Facts label, and “Not reported” means the USDA record has no value. These are averages from reference data, not the label of any product.
What the numbers show
- Plain oats are similar whatever the cut. Rolled, steel-cut and quick oats all have about 27 to 28 g of total carbohydrate per 40 g dry; in USDA’s newer analyses, steel-cut oats have a little more fiber, 12.0 g per 100 g versus 10.4 g for rolled oats. [1]
- Most of the carbohydrate in oats is starch. MedlinePlus lists oats among whole grains that are high in starch, and USDA’s newer analysis of rolled oats measured 53.8 g of starch within 68.7 g of total carbohydrate per 100 g. [9] [1]
- Flavored packets add sugar. The maple and brown sugar packet has 33 g of total carbohydrate and 13 g of total sugars, against 19.5 g and less than 0.5 g for the plain packet. [1] Because plain oats have so little sugar, most of the flavored packet’s sugar likely comes from added sweetener; the Added Sugars line on the box shows the exact amount. [8] The Dietary Guidelines say one meal should contain no more than 10 g of added sugars. [5]
- Sweeteners are almost all carbohydrate. Honey adds 17.5 g and maple syrup 13.5 g per tablespoon, and FDA counts sugars from syrups and honey as added sugars. [1] [8]
- Fruit adds carbohydrate too. ½ cup of blueberries adds 10.5 g and half a banana 13.5 g. [1] The sugars in fruit and plain milk are not counted as added sugars, but they are still part of total carbohydrate. [5] [10]
- Nuts and unsweetened almond milk add the least. 1 oz of walnuts adds 4 g of total carbohydrate, half of it fiber, and ½ cup of unsweetened almond milk 1.5 g, compared with 6 g for ½ cup of 2% milk. [1]
Two example bowls, added up
These two bowls are hypothetical examples that show the arithmetic, not recommendations. Each total adds the unrounded USDA values for every item and is rounded once. [1]
- Bowl A: ½ cup cooked oatmeal, ½ cup blueberries, 1 oz walnuts and ½ cup unsweetened almond milk come to about 30.5 g of total carbohydrate, 6 g of fiber, 24.5 g of carbohydrate minus fiber and 9.5 g of total sugars. [1]
- Bowl B: 1 cup cooked oatmeal, 1 tablespoon honey, 1 miniature box of raisins and ½ cup 2% milk come to about 62.5 g of total carbohydrate, 4.5 g of fiber, 57.5 g of carbohydrate minus fiber and 33 g of total sugars. [1]
Bowl B has about twice the oatmeal of Bowl A, but most of the difference comes from the honey, raisins and milk.
How sure these numbers are
- Most rows use USDA’s SR Legacy records: historical data derived from analyses, calculations and published literature, with a final update in 2018. The two dry rolled and steel-cut rows use newer Foundation Foods analyses. [1]
- USDA lists total carbohydrate “by difference”, a calculated value rather than a direct measurement, in every record in the table. [1]
- The Foundation oat records report no sugars, so those cells read “Not reported”. [1]
- The fiber value for unsweetened almond milk rests on one manufacturer-supplied data point, and products vary. [1]
- The sodium value for oatmeal cooked with salt, used in the safety checklist, is a recipe estimate based on package directions rather than a measurement. [1]
Using the guide with a package label
- Check the serving size first. It is not a recommendation of how much to eat, and if you eat two servings, you double every amount. [11] The food label reading worksheet walks through each line.
- Total Carbohydrate on the label already includes dietary fiber, sugars and, when present, sugar alcohols. [10] The label lists total carbohydrate and dietary fiber separately, with no line for one minus the other, so do that subtraction yourself if your plan uses it. [7]
- “Includes” before Added Sugars means those grams are part of Total Sugars; the Daily Value for added sugars is 50 g. [8] [7]
- Read 5% DV or less per serving as low and 20% DV or more as high. [11]
Safety checklist before changing how much carbohydrate you eat
Go through these before you change your oatmeal portions or your overall carbohydrate intake.
- Taking insulin or another diabetes medicine? Not eating enough carbohydrate can make blood glucose drop too low, so work with your care team to adjust your plan. [6] If you take mealtime insulin, CDC explains that you match your insulin dose to the carbohydrate you eat. [4]
- Kidney disease, pregnancy or a history of disordered eating? The diabetes consensus report says more research is needed before very low-carbohydrate plans can be recommended for these groups, so ask your care team first. [3]
- Celiac disease? NIDDK says most people with celiac disease can eat moderate amounts of oats, but cross-contact with gluten grains is common, so choose oats labeled gluten-free and ask your health care professional how much is right for you. [12] Oats labeled gluten-free must contain less than 20 ppm gluten. [13]
- Watching sodium? 1 cup of oatmeal cooked with salt has about 165 mg of sodium (7% DV), compared with 10 mg cooked without salt, by our calculation. [1] [7] For savory flavors that keep sodium in check, see these low salt asian recipes.
- Making overnight oats? Keep them in the refrigerator at 40 °F or below, and never leave them out of refrigeration for more than 2 hours, or 1 hour above 90 °F. [14]
Ways to adjust a bowl if you want fewer carbohydrates
- Change the portion. ½ cup of cooked oatmeal has 14 g of total carbohydrate, half of a full cup. [1]
- Choose plain oats. A plain instant packet has 19.5 g of total carbohydrate, compared with 33 g for the maple and brown sugar packet. [1]
- Swap the liquid. ½ cup of unsweetened almond milk adds 1.5 g of carbohydrate, compared with 6 g for 2% milk. [1]
- Use nuts or peanut butter for flavor. 1 oz of walnuts adds 4 g of carbohydrate and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter 7 g, compared with 17.5 g for a tablespoon of honey. [1]
What this page cannot tell you
- How much carbohydrate is right for you. The diabetes consensus report says the amount of carbohydrate needed for optimal health is unknown, and CDC notes the amount depends on age, weight, activity level and more. [3] [4]
- How your own blood glucose responds to a particular bowl of oatmeal.
- This page covers oats and common add-ins as food. It does not cover oat milk, oat bran, granola or supplements.
Common questions
How many carbs are in a bowl of oatmeal?
1 cup of oatmeal cooked with water has about 28 g of total carbohydrate and 4 g of fiber, and ½ cup about 14 g, by our calculation from USDA data. [1] Add-ins are extra, so add them up as in the example bowls. [1]
Are steel-cut oats lower in carbs than rolled oats?
Not by much. Per 40 g dry, steel-cut oats have about 28 g of total carbohydrate and rolled oats 27.5 g; steel-cut oats have slightly more fiber. [1]
Can you subtract fiber from oatmeal carbs?
Some plans do. CDC says sugars and starches raise blood sugar but fiber does not, and the consensus report describes very low-carbohydrate goals as grams of nonfiber carbohydrate. [4] [3] The label shows total carbohydrate, which includes fiber, so follow the counting method your plan or care team uses. [10]
Is instant oatmeal OK on a low carb diet?
Plain instant oatmeal has about 19.5 g of total carbohydrate per packet; the maple and brown sugar packet has 33 g, with 13 g of total sugars. [1] Check the Added Sugars line when you compare flavored packets. [8]
How many grams of carbs count as low carb?
There is no consistent definition. The consensus report defined low carbohydrate as 26–45% of calories for its review, and very low as less than 26%, often with a goal of 20–50 g of nonfiber carbohydrate a day. [3] Those figures describe research categories, not a target for you.
More guides on everyday food choices are in Nutrition and practical resources.
Safety first. If you take insulin or another medicine that lowers blood glucose, eating fewer carbohydrates than usual can make your blood glucose drop too low, so talk with your health care team before you change how much carbohydrate you eat. [6] [3] Low blood glucose can make you shaky, dizzy or confused. Severe low blood glucose, which can cause a seizure or loss of consciousness, is dangerous and needs help right away: NIDDK tells family and friends to call 911 right away after giving glucagon, or if no glucagon emergency kit is on hand. [6]
Sources and limitations
- U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service: FoodData Central. SR Legacy records are historical reference data, last updated in 2018; total carbohydrate is calculated by difference; the Foundation oat records report no sugars, and the almond milk fiber value rests on one manufacturer-supplied data point.
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 21 CFR 101.12, Reference amounts customarily consumed per eating occasion. Labeling rules, not intake advice; a package may list a different household serving.
- Evert AB, Dennison M, Gardner CD, et al. Nutrition Therapy for Adults With Diabetes or Prediabetes: A Consensus Report. Diabetes Care. 2019;42(5):731-754. Written for clinicians in 2019 about adults with diabetes or prediabetes; its carbohydrate ranges define categories for its own evidence review and are not targets.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Carb Counting. Written for people with diabetes; it sets no amount for anyone.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2025–2030. Population guidance; it does not define a low carbohydrate diet or mention oatmeal by name.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases: Low Blood Glucose (Hypoglycemia). Last reviewed July 2021. Written for people with diabetes; medicine changes are made individually with a care team.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. Daily Values are label reference numbers based on a 2,000-calorie diet, not personal targets.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Added Sugars on the Nutrition Facts Label. Explains label lines; USDA reference records do not report added sugars, so the table shows total sugars.
- MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia: Carbohydrates. General encyclopedia entry; it gives no amounts for oatmeal.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Interactive Nutrition Facts Label, Total Carbohydrate. Undated consumer education page; it explains the label and sets no low carbohydrate target.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label. General label-reading guidance; it does not evaluate oatmeal or any specific food.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases: Eating, Diet, & Nutrition for Celiac Disease. Last reviewed October 2020. General guidance; whether and how much oats to eat is decided with a health care professional.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Questions and Answers on the Gluten-Free Food Labeling Final Rule. Explains a voluntary label claim; oats without the claim are not held to that standard.
- U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service: “Danger Zone” (40°F - 140°F). General food-safety rule; it does not mention oats.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
Not Medical AdviceThe information on this site is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. Talk with a qualified healthcare practitioner before making changes to your health routine.