Heart-Healthy Recipes

Low Sodium Pork Sausage: Ground Pork, Spices and Store Labels Compared

Low sodium pork sausage: USDA sodium values for ground pork, sausage and spices, label data for 814 store sausages, the meat label rule, and safe handling.

Unseasoned ground pork contains little sodium on its own; in pork sausage, most of the sodium comes from the salt and other sodium-containing ingredients mixed into the meat. In USDA FoodData Central reference data, per 100 grams, raw ground pork lists 56 mg of sodium, while raw pork sausage links or patties list 739 mg and raw mild Italian pork sausage 563 mg. [1] In USDA label data for 814 uncured pork sausages sold in the United States in bulk, links or patties, all 814 list salt, and the median is 718 mg of sodium per 100 grams. [1] On a meat label, “low sodium” means 140 mg of sodium or less per reference amount [2]; for pork sausage, the federal reference amount is 55 g, with 75 g listed for uncooked sausage. [3]

Fresh pork sausage is sold raw. USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service says uncooked sausages that contain pork should be cooked to 160°F [4], checked with a food thermometer [5], and that uncooked fresh sausage keeps 1 to 2 days in the refrigerator or 1 to 2 months in the freezer. [4] Refrigerate cooked sausage within 2 hours. [6] This page is general education, not individual nutrition advice. If you have kidney disease, take certain medications, or follow a medically prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes or lower-sodium products made with potassium chloride. [7] Some store sausages list milk, soy or wheat, which are among the major food allergens. [8] [1]

Compare pork sausage ingredients by sodium

Sodium in ground pork, sausage and spices

The table lists USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy entries, per 100 grams, with how USDA arrived at each sodium value; saturated fat is rounded to one decimal. [1] Per 100 grams is a standard unit for comparing foods, not an amount anyone eats. Saturated fat is shown because pork sausage carries more of it than ground turkey; FDA lists the Daily Value for saturated fat as 20 g and for sodium as 2,300 mg. [9]

Sodium and saturated fat per 100 grams in USDA FoodData Central SR Legacy entries for ground pork, ground turkey, pork and turkey sausage, herbs, spices and salt
USDA SR Legacy entry (FDC ID)Sodium, mg per 100 gBasis of the sodium valueSaturated fat, g per 100 g
Unseasoned ground pork and turkey
Pork, fresh, ground, raw (167902)565 data points; method not stated7.9
Turkey, Ground, raw (171505)58Analyzed (12 data points)2.0
Pork, fresh, ground, cooked (167903)734 data points; method not stated7.7
Pork sausage, raw or unprepared
Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, raw (171631)563Analyzed (5 data points)8.6
Pork sausage, link/patty, reduced fat, unprepared (171635)581Analyzed (4 data points)4.4
Pork sausage, link/patty, unprepared (172934)739Analyzed (14 data points)7.6
Sausage, pork, chorizo, link or ground, raw (173859)788Analyzed (3 data points)8.6
Pork sausage, cooked
Pork sausage, reduced sodium, cooked (173882)294From a label claim; no data points8.2
Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried (174586)801Analyzed (11 data points)9.0
Pork sausage, link/patty, cooked, pan-fried (174578)814Analyzed (15 data points)8.8
Turkey sausage, raw
Sausage, turkey, fresh, raw (174617)593Analyzed (1 data point)2.0
Sausage, turkey, breakfast links, mild, raw (174600)714Analyzed (8 data points)2.8
Herbs and spices
Spices, sage, ground (170935)114 data points; method not stated7.0
Spices, pepper, black (170931)20Analyzed (5 data points)1.4
Spices, pepper, red or cayenne (170932)305 data points; method not stated3.3
Spices, thyme, dried (170938)5510 data points; method not stated2.7
Spices, garlic powder (171325)60Analyzed (3 data points)0.2
Spices, paprika (171329)68Analyzed (3 data points)2.1
Spices, onion powder (171327)73Analyzed (1 data point)0.2
Spices, fennel seed (171323)887 data points; method not stated0.5
Concentrated sodium source
Salt, table (173468)38,8001 data point; method not stated0.0

Limits of this comparison. SR Legacy is USDA’s historical dataset; its final update was in 2018, and these entries were published in April 2019. Its values are generic, not those of any product you can buy, and raw and cooked entries are separate records rather than the same sample before and after cooking. Among these entries, USDA reports data points for saturated fat only for raw fresh turkey sausage and table salt. [1] FDA notes that sodium can vary significantly between similar foods, so the Nutrition Facts label on the package you buy is the figure to use. [10]

What the table shows. Raw ground pork lists 56 mg of sodium per 100 grams and raw ground turkey 58 mg. Seasoned raw pork sausage entries list 563 to 788 mg, and the pan-fried pork sausage entries 801 and 814 mg; the reduced sodium cooked pork sausage entry, taken from a label claim, lists 294 mg. Raw turkey sausage lists 593 and 714 mg, so switching meats does not by itself remove the sodium that seasoning adds. Sage, black pepper, red pepper, thyme, garlic powder, paprika, onion powder and fennel seed list 11 to 88 mg, against 38,800 mg for table salt. Raw ground pork lists 7.9 g of saturated fat per 100 grams and raw ground turkey 2.0 g. [1]

What makes it fresh pork sausage

Under the federal standard, fresh pork sausage is made from fresh or frozen pork, without pork byproducts, and may be seasoned with condimental substances. The finished product may not contain more than 50 percent fat, and water or ice may not exceed 3 percent of the ingredients. The standard does not set an amount of salt or sodium. [11] FSIS groups sausages as uncooked or ready-to-eat; uncooked sausages include fresh sausage, sold in bulk, patties or links, and smoked sausage. Fresh sausages must be kept refrigerated and thoroughly cooked before eating. [4]

FDA lists curing meat, enhancing flavor and preserving food among the uses of sodium as a food ingredient, and suggests choosing fresh meat over processed varieties and checking fresh meat packages for added salt water or saline. [10] In the reference data, the sodium gap between plain ground pork and pork sausage comes from what is added, which is why the ingredient list and the Nutrition Facts panel matter more than the type of meat.

What store pork sausage labels show

In USDA’s Branded Foods label data, every pork sausage in the groups below lists salt. [1]

  • Breakfast-style and plain pork sausage. 421 products. Of the 414 with a usable sodium value, the median is 702 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 625 to 798 mg, and the range 45 to 1,689 mg. 2 are named lower or reduced sodium; they list 304 and 310 mg per 100 grams, and both list salt and potassium chloride. [1]
  • Italian-style pork sausage. 240 products. The median is 747 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 631 to 840 mg, and the range 145 to 1,429 mg; 13 list potassium chloride. [1]
  • Pork bratwurst. 122 products. Of the 121 with a sodium value, the median is 737 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 626 to 894 mg, and the range 396 to 1,139 mg. [1]
  • Pork chorizo. 31 products. The median is 718 mg per 100 grams, the middle half 589 to 893 mg, and the range 179 to 1,304 mg. [1]

Across all 814 products, 276 also list at least one ingredient with “sodium” in its name, such as monosodium glutamate or sodium lactate, 26 list potassium chloride, and 688 list sugar, syrup, dextrose, honey or molasses. [1]

The median is the middle label in each group, and the middle half is the range covered by the central 50% of labels; values are shown as listed, rounded to the nearest milligram. USDA’s Branded Foods data converts the sodium on each label to a value per 100 grams. [12] Products are included when pork is the first ingredient and the ingredient list names no curing agent or smoke, with one record per product barcode; cooked, smoked, dry and ready-to-eat sausages, labels whose serving is stated as cooked, and labels with a serving of 30 g or less, the reference amount for dry sausage products, are not included. [1] [3] The labels do not always say whether a product is raw or fully cooked. USDA notes that a missing value does not indicate zero; 7 products report no sodium value, and 1 lists a value above that of table salt and is left out of the figures. [12] [1] Most of these label records date from 2021 to 2023, the full set spans 2019 to 2025, and formulas change. The data does not cover every product on the market, so check the current label of the package you buy. [1]

What the label terms mean on meat

Sodium claims on meat products follow USDA rules: [2]

  • “Sodium free.” Less than 5 mg of sodium per reference amount and per labeled serving. [2]
  • “Very low sodium.” 35 mg or less per reference amount. [2]
  • “Low sodium.” 140 mg or less per reference amount, for products whose reference amount is greater than 30 g. [2] For pork sausage, the reference amount is 55 g, with 75 g listed for uncooked sausage. [3]
  • “Reduced” or “lower sodium.” At least 25 percent less sodium per reference amount than an appropriate reference product. [2]
  • “Unsalted” or “no salt added.” If the product is not sodium free, the label must carry the statement “not a sodium free product” or “not for control of sodium in the diet.” Salt is not synonymous with sodium; salt refers to sodium chloride. [2]
  • “0 mg” on the label. Meat labels express sodium as zero when a serving contains less than 5 mg, so a label that lists 0 mg means less than 5 mg per serving, not a food with no sodium. [13]
  • Daily Value. FDA lists the Daily Value for sodium as less than 2,300 mg per day, and as a general guide considers 5% DV or less of sodium per serving low and 20% DV or more high. [10]

The serving size and %DV on each label are the numbers to compare; FDA advises checking the serving size when comparing products. [10] For practice reading both, see the food label reading worksheet.

Seasoning pork without relying on salt

FDA suggests trying no-salt seasoning blends and herbs and spices instead of salt. [10] The spices common in pork sausage, including sage, black pepper, red pepper, thyme, garlic powder, paprika, onion powder and fennel seed, list 11 to 88 mg of sodium per 100 grams in USDA’s reference data, while table salt lists 38,800 mg. [1] Seasoning blends sold in stores may contain salt, so check the ingredient list. For a seasoning approach built on herbs and spices, see the guide to low salt chicken seasoning.

Handling fresh pork sausage safely

The guidance below comes from federal food safety sources.

  • Storing raw sausage. Keep your refrigerator at 40°F (4°C) or below and your freezer at 0°F (-18°C) or below. [14] If the sausage has a “Use-By” date, follow it; otherwise, FSIS lists uncooked fresh sausage at 1 to 2 days in the refrigerator, opened or unopened, and 1 to 2 months in the freezer. [4] FoodSafety.gov’s cold storage chart gives the same times for raw sausage. [15] Food kept frozen continuously is safe indefinitely [4], but freezing does not destroy harmful germs. [14]
  • Thawing. The three safe ways to thaw are in the refrigerator, in cold water and in the microwave; never thaw on the counter or in hot water. Ground meat thawed in the refrigerator stays safe for an additional day or two before cooking. Cook food thawed in cold water or the microwave immediately. Food can also be cooked from the frozen state; cooking takes about 50% longer. [16]
  • Preparing. Wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds, including after handling raw meat or its juices. Wash cutting boards, dishes, utensils and countertops with hot, soapy water, use separate plates and utensils for raw and cooked foods, and do not wash raw meat, which spreads germs around the kitchen. [14]
  • Cooking. Cook uncooked sausage that contains pork to 160°F; sausage made with ground turkey or chicken needs 165°F. [4] Always use a food thermometer to check the temperature [5], placing it in the thickest part of the food. [14]
  • After cooking. Keep hot food at 140°F (60°C) or above if it is not served right away. Never leave perishable food out of refrigeration for more than 2 hours, or 1 hour above 90°F (32°C). [14] FSIS lists sausage cooked at home at 3 to 4 days in the refrigerator and 2 to 3 months in the freezer. [4] Divide large amounts into shallow containers to cool, and reheat leftovers to 165°F as measured with a food thermometer. [6]

Kidney diets, potassium and allergens

Potassium is an ingredient in many salt substitutes. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says that people with kidney disease, or who take certain medications, could end up with potassium levels that are too high from these products, and advises talking with a health care provider before using them. [7] In the label data, 26 pork sausages list potassium chloride, including both products named lower or reduced sodium. [1] If you follow a medically prescribed diet, including a kidney diet, use the plan from your health care team.

FDA recognizes nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame. [8] In the label data, 53 pork sausages name milk, cheese, whey, butter, cream, lactose or casein in the ingredient list, 26 name a soy ingredient such as soy protein, soy sauce or soybean oil, and 7 name wheat. [1] FDA’s first tip for people with food allergies is to always read food labels. [8]

Where to go next

This guide to low sodium pork sausage covers sodium, saturated fat, label terms, safe handling and allergens only. It does not assess calories, portion size or how sausage fits an overall meal plan. More guides are listed under Heart-healthy recipes.

Common questions

How much sodium is in pork sausage?

USDA’s reference entry for raw pork sausage links or patties lists 739 mg per 100 grams, and in USDA label data the median for 814 uncured pork sausages is 718 mg per 100 grams. [1] The label on the package gives the amount per serving.

Is there pork sausage with no sodium?

Pork itself contains some sodium: USDA lists 56 mg per 100 grams of raw ground pork. [1] On a meat label, “sodium free” means less than 5 mg per reference amount and per labeled serving [2], and every pork sausage in the label data lists salt. [1]

What does “low sodium” mean on a sausage package?

140 mg of sodium or less per reference amount [2], which for pork sausage is 55 g, with 75 g listed for uncooked sausage. [3] “No salt added” is a different claim, and a product that is not sodium free must say so on the label. [2]

What temperature should fresh pork sausage reach?

FSIS says uncooked sausages that contain pork should be cooked to 160°F [4], measured with a food thermometer. [5]

How long does fresh pork sausage keep?

FSIS lists uncooked fresh sausage at 1 to 2 days in the refrigerator and 1 to 2 months in the freezer, and sausage cooked at home at 3 to 4 days in the refrigerator. [4] If you have kidney disease or follow a prescribed diet, ask your health care provider before using salt substitutes. [7]

Compare pork sausage ingredients by sodium

Sources and limitations

  1. U.S. Department of Agriculture: FoodData Central. SR Legacy dataset, published April 2019; entries by FDC ID: 167902 (raw ground pork), 171505 (raw ground turkey), 167903 (cooked ground pork), 171631 (raw mild Italian pork sausage), 171635 (reduced fat pork sausage, unprepared), 172934 (pork sausage link or patty, unprepared), 173859 (raw pork chorizo), 173882 (reduced sodium pork sausage, cooked), 174586 (mild Italian pork sausage, pan-fried), 174578 (pork sausage link or patty, pan-fried), 174617 (raw fresh turkey sausage), 174600 (raw turkey breakfast links), 170935 (sage), 170931 (black pepper), 170932 (red pepper), 170938 (thyme), 171325 (garlic powder), 171329 (paprika), 171327 (onion powder), 171323 (fennel seed), 173468 (table salt). Branded Foods dataset, April 2026 release: label data supplied by food brands, here 814 uncured pork sausages sold in the United States in bulk, links or patties, grouped by product name, one record per product barcode. Search each FDC ID on the FoodData Central site. SR Legacy values are generic and its final update was in 2018; branded values are as reported by manufacturers and may not match current products.
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 9 CFR 317.361, Nutrient content claims for the sodium content. Current regulation text. USDA rules for meat product labels; they do not apply to home cooking.
  3. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 9 CFR 317.312, Reference amounts customarily consumed per eating occasion. Current regulation text. Reference amounts are for labeling, not recommended amounts to eat.
  4. USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service: Sausages and Food Safety. Last updated February 10, 2025. Sausage types, cooking temperatures and storage times for consumers.
  5. FoodSafety.gov: Safe Minimum Internal Temperature Chart. Last reviewed November 21, 2024. Minimum cooking temperatures for home cooks.
  6. USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service: Leftovers and Food Safety. Last updated July 31, 2020. General guidance for leftovers; it does not give a time for any specific dish.
  7. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Potassium, Fact Sheet for Consumers. Updated March 22, 2021. General overview; it does not list individual products or set limits for any person.
  8. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Food Allergies: What You Need to Know. Content current as of August 16, 2024. Lists the major food allergens recognized in the United States; it does not assess individual products.
  9. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Lists the Daily Values used on food labels; not individual intake targets.
  10. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: Sodium in Your Diet. Content current as of March 5, 2024. Daily Value, %DV guide, uses of sodium in food and tips for the general public; not individual dietary advice.
  11. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 9 CFR 319.141, Fresh pork sausage. Current regulation text. Federal standard of identity for fresh pork sausage; it does not set an amount of salt or sodium.
  12. U.S. Department of Agriculture: USDA Global Branded Food Products Database Documentation. April 2024. Explains the conversion of label values to a 100 g or 100 mL basis and what missing values mean.
  13. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 9 CFR 317.309, Nutrition label content. Current regulation text; paragraph (c)(4) on sodium rounding. Rules for manufacturers.
  14. FoodSafety.gov: 4 Steps to Food Safety. Last reviewed September 18, 2023. General home food safety steps; not specific to any product.
  15. FoodSafety.gov: Cold Food Storage Chart. Last reviewed September 19, 2023. Home refrigerator and freezer storage times.
  16. USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service: The Big Thaw, Safe Defrosting Methods. Last updated June 15, 2013. General thawing guidance; not specific to any product.
Dietary Supplement Disclaimer

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Not Medical Advice

The information on this site is for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. Talk with a qualified healthcare practitioner before making changes to your health routine.